Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

Food please

Dear children,

I need to eat sometimes. I just need five minutes to shovel something into my mouth. I don’t care what. I’m hungry.

I am writing to ask if you could please refrain from crying, complaining, shouting, hurting yourself, pooping or feeling bored. We’re only talking about five minutes once, maybe twice, a day so that my body will keep going.

I don’t plan to take the time to make myself a nutritious snack. I don’t plan to sit down and actually taste my food. I will stuff anything into my body as quickly as I can while standing at the kitchen counter.

I just need five minutes.

Cordially, Your mom

One comment on “Food please

  1. Cindy
    May 9, 2011

    You nailed that one on the head. Does it ever change though? I am still hiding behind counters and eating in closets just to get my dinner. 🙂 If I don’t, they call or run to me to be wiped or consoled. Otherwise the children don’t bother my spouse with their needs, it is like they think he is not capable or something. hahahahaha! If he has food though, they do know where to find him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 9, 2011 by .
