Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

The summit of Denali

Alec Turner on the summit of Denali two days before solstice in 2011.

Alec is riding a personal high after reaching the top of North America’s tallest peak earlier this month. I like seeing him this happy, which is why I feel a little like a bitch when I say things like, “Honey, can you peel yourself away from Facebook for a few minutes and change the baby’s diaper so I can continue cooking dinner?”

He’s not quite dialed back into our crazy household, and I don’t blame him for trying to linger in the Land of Me. I used to live there myself, and it’s crazy laid back. You get to sleep when you’re tired, eat when you’re hungry and listen to whatever you want on the radio.

One comment on “The summit of Denali

  1. Sarah
    July 2, 2011

    That’s so sweet that he brought a photo of his 3 to the top. I bet he really missed you all even though achieving a personal goal must’ve been great.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2011 by .
