Murphy Dome Diaries

A journalist observes life in the far north.

How do you like me now?

Me on the Pinnell Mountain Trail in Alaska July 5-7, 2013.

Me on the Pinnell Mountain Trail in Alaska July 5-7, 2013.

Alright. I have a confession to make. I gave up blogging and took up backpacking. It wasn’t planned. It just happened. Something shiny and new came into my life and I left behind old habits, such as Murphy Dome Diaries. But recently I’ve been thinking about the blog. It was fun keeping an online journal. It made me feel like I was making an effort to keep in touch with people far away. And let’s face it. When you live in Alaska, you always have people who are far away. I think about my far away people and miss them. If they miss me, they can come here.

Many things have changed in the months I have been absent from this space. My oldest is in school. Alec, my partner, is building a new granite store. I’ve been freelancing though not much. My youngest walks and talks and can practically ride a bike. He eats his cereal with a fork.

The seasons are changing here. It’s starting to frost. Soon the deep freeze will come and stay for months. It will be dark. So dark. Last winter was the hardest winter since I moved to Alaska in 1996. It was bitter cold. Winter seemed to last an extra month. So I am cringing at the approach of this winter. And as usual I am thinking about getting a job. Nothing makes time go by faster than good work.

January marks three years since I have been staying home with the kids. I know. I should pinch myself or something. Many moms want to be with their children but they have no choice. They must work. And here I have spent the last three years with my children. I’ll probably look back at this time as some of the best of my life. But I can’t help it. I miss working. I miss discussing things other than my family and contributing to something bigger than me or my family.

But all of that will have to wait for now. Because someone needs to potty train a 2-year-old little boy and that someone is me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2013 by .

Navigation

